What is #BanBossy?

Many of you may have seen or heard of “Ban Bossy” but what exactly is it?

Ban Bossy is a movement the Girl Scouts and the Lean In Foundation are spearheading. Lean In is a book by Sheryl Sandberg. Sheryl is the COO of Facebook and encourages women to be leaders in the workplace.

The concept of the campaign is, girls who have leadership potential are often labeled as “bossy”.

The goals

Encourage female leadership by:

    • Raising awareness of how we inadvertently hold girls back
    • Providing practical tips for girls, troop leaders and parents
    • Driving a national conversation about girls’ leadership

Now let’s watch the video:

I downloaded the “Leadership Tips for Girls” and I’d like to highlight their tips.

  • Speak Up in Class
  • Stop Apologizing Before You Speak
  • Challenge Yourself, Push yourself beyond your comfort zone!
  • Ask for Help
  • Don’t Do Everyone Else’s Work
  • Speak Up in Friendship
  • Trust Your Inner Voice
  • Change the World
  • Practice

The guide is meant for younger girls, although I can’t help but to relate to this. It can still apply right now in your twenty-something life. I’m 25 and agreeing with this!

I do speak up in class even if I don’t know the answer. This also goes for friendships. It’s almost a given to be able to communicate with your friend, right? No! Sometimes it can be tough. You might not want to hurt each other feelings or touch on a sensitive subject. Nonetheless, you can not avoid it. It will eat you alive

In the past I noticed I was apologizing for what I was going to say, no more! I stopped that habit and bam I sounded confident and assertive.

Okay, challenging yourself, I feel like I do this without thinking anymore. I definitely give my parents credit for this, they pushed me in everything I did.

I struggled with asking for help. One of my senior managers gave me feedback on this. He didn’t let me do any work, any of the team’s work what-so-ever. I was only allowed to delegate and report back to him. Wow was this difficult! I had to do this for three months! But it was so worth it in the end. I learned so much about myself and my team. After that experience we were all able to effectively work together and produce great results.

This isn’t the first time I heard about trusting your inner voice. My high school physics teacher said the same thing to our class. He used another term, inner child, because it’s so free and curious. Let yourself wonder and explore. And ladies, we have the special power, intuition. Listen to it!

Ah, changing the world. Deep down inside I truly think we all secretly wish for this. Some of my not know how or why we even feel this way. Thats OK! I would suggest starting small (I’m sure thats the general consensus) with manageable and relevant goals. This will give you the practice you need to build confidence and the skills necessary.

One last thing, I was called bossy… I just saw it as getting the job done. So you’re not alone.

Change the words.

And we change the future.

Ban Bossy

Go ahead and speak up below.

One thought on “What is #BanBossy?

Leave a Reply

